Letters to God, Day 14

Dear Abba,

Ugly.

These past several days that I have not written—Abba, they are ugly days. Ugly days when I come to You in prayer, yelling and screaming and crying. Ugly days when I think and speak and act nothing like You and when all the fight of faith in me is to just holdfast to the vision of You holding onto me.

In this flaccid state I see pictures that speak to me of Your eternal truth. I saw myself illustrated like a warrior princess, a stone and a sling in my hand, standing fiercely and confidently against a giant comprised of negative words. From behind me shone a bright light, bigger than the giant trying to shake me down, and it shone in the shape of a cross that was dispelling the giant—one letter after the next.

I awoke one ugly day and heard You speak into my heart that it was a new day and Your day, to rejoice and be glad in it.

Distracted. Discouraged.

These two waves swell and beat down hard against me. I think under the pressure of them my heart broke a little and my dreams cracked. But, I am not defeated and I will not drown.

Thank You, Abba, for Christ is in me, the hope of glory. You always lead me to triumph in Him. He has bound up my broken heart and healed me by His stripes.

Resilient. Victorious.

Ain’t no giant gonna shake me down!

Your Warrior Daughter,

Julisa

4 comments

  1. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    A VERY APPROPRIATE LETTER–THAT MANY WOULD AGREE TO.

    1. Thanks, Mr. Caswell. I’ve taken a bit of a hiatus from the blog, but look forward to posting again in within the week.

      God bless you and thanks for stopping by 🙂

      1. I’m happy you blogged this! Blessings!

      2. Thanks again–so very much! God bless you 🙂

Leave a Reply

