A Petition

Last April, I wrote out a prayer/petition for all spiritual wisdom and understanding, praying myself into some verses from Colossians 1. 

I wrote it on an index card which I carry around with other cards I’ve written verses on. 

The cards are truth I can read aloud to myself throughout the day and build myself up in our most holy faith.

I wrote:

Abba, I pray and ask to be filled with the knowledge of Your will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so that I will walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, to please You in all respects, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of You; strengthened with all power, according to Your glorious might for the attaining of all steadfastness, and patience; joyously giving thanks to You, Father, who has qualified me to share in the inheritance of the saints in Light–Col. 1:9-12, NASB

When we petition our King, it’s not like soldiers of yore petitioning kings who would maybe send the supplies they needed. 

When we petition our King for His wisdom and understanding, it’s a guaranteed supply and delivery. 

He is willing and ready. Are we?

There is no one who cares for us more than He does. Thanks be to Jesus!

Leave a Reply

