Lord, Do You Wash My Feet?

This Sunday past I visited LifeGate Church in Downtown Carrollton, GA for the first time. 

The brothers and sisters there are a genuine and relational bunch–and they love to worship the Lord. I loved it. 

Just like Abba told me I would.

A part of Sunday’s message that I keep thinking about is from John 13, when Jesus washes the feet of His disciples.

I’ve so often related to Peter–to his love and recognition of who Jesus is and to his humanity (the trust issue moments, you know).

And. 

Peter makes me laugh a lot. Not at him, but his reactions. 

Some of the reactions Peter had to the things Jesus told him–it’s like I can almost hear Peter freaking out on Him.

The washing of the disciple’s feet is a perfect example. 

When Jesus came around to wash Peter’s feet, Peter was like, “Say what? You? God? You are going to wash my feet? Umm, ain’t happenin’! No way!” 

Pastor Mike delivered a pretty comical recount of this exchange too.

But. 

Then it gets very still. Goes deep. And, Jesus makes it very clear to Peter.

If I do not wash you, you have no part with Me–John 13:8 (NASB)
 

Then. 

Peter is like, “Well, don’t stop at my feet! You can wash my hands and head too!”

Deeper.

After washing their feet and getting settled at the dinner table again, Jesus asks them a question.

Do you know what I have done to you (John 13:12, NASB)?

I love when Jesus asks the disciples a question because He always follows up with the answer.

You call Me Teacher and Lord; and you are right, for so I am. If I then, the Lord and the Teacher, washed your feet, you also ought to wash one another’s feet. For I gave you an example that you also should do as I did to you–John 13:12-16 (NASB)

 Jesus not only washes our feet (or serves us, and humbly), He wants us to do the same to each other.

Serve each other in His love. Serve each other like He serves us, in love.

Leave a Reply

